VMware Iaas exam Study Notes

While preparing for my VMware Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) Exam (exam code: VCPVCD510), I have compiled some Study Notes.

During my preparations, I have followed the official Exam Blue print, the notes are based on this document. The information comes from the official VMware documentation, references to blog posts and lots of screen shots from my Home lab.

The notes do not cover each objective in every aspect (that’s why I named it Study Notes instead of a Study Guide). However, I am sure it provides a lot of useful information.

Without a doubt, the best way to prepare for this exam is to download and install the bytes. Then build and break vCloud Director, vCenter Chargeback Manager and the other stuff.

As always, I welcome your comments.

Link: VCP Cloud Study Notes 20130406

vCenter Chargeback Manager is part of the VMware Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) Exam. See also my series of three post about the installation, configuration and creating the first report with vCenter Chargeback Manager.

vCenter Chargeback Manager – Part 1

vCenter Chargeback Manager – Part 2

vCenter Chargeback Manager – Part 3

11 Responses to VMware Iaas exam Study Notes

  1. chinthub says:

    Can you please let me know where I can get the iso file for VMWare Cloud Director evaluation? In the vmware site, they have only ova file, which I tried deploying in my lab environment and was not successful.

  2. paulgrevink says:

    the vCloud Director virtual appliance is only available as an .ova file.
    You have to import the .ova file in an ESXi server, see page 238 of the VCP cloud Study notes.
    For evaluation purposes, I recommend downloading the vCloud Director virtual appliance.
    For a production environment, it is recommended to build a vCloud Director server from scratch.
    There is no .ISO available.
    You can download vCloud Director Trial from here: https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/evalcenter?p=vcloud-director51&lp=default

    Can you tell me in what way the deployment was not successful?

    Best regards,

    Paul

  3. chinthub says:

    Thank you Paul for the response. I will give another try with the virtual appliance. The problem I faced will deploying the ova file was the hardware version mismatch I believe. While trying next if I get the error again, I will post a screen shot here, or I can give the error in more detail.

    regards, Chinthu

    • chinthub says:

      Just tried once again. Deployment went fine, but while booting the VCD I get the error below:

      “FAILURE: OVF environment not supported. Please deploy on compatible vCenter Server.”

      • paulgrevink says:

        Hello Chinthu,

        Thank you very much for your comments.
        Which version of the vCenter Server are you running?
        Is the vCenter installed on Windows or an Appliance?

        Best regards,

        Paul

  4. chinthub says:

    I deployed the VCD appliance directly on my ESXi 5.0 Host (not on vCenter). I am building a nested lab environment.

    • paulgrevink says:

      Hello Chintu,

      I also installed vCenter Server 5.1 and vCD on a physical ESXi host.
      Also the ESXi hosts managed by vCD are nested.
      The physical ESXi host is also under vCenter management.
      So, I imported the vCD using vCenter,

      Best regards,

      Paul

  5. gary ford says:

    Hi,

    Firstly a big thanks for the very comprehensive document. You have put a lot of time and effort in that is for sure.

    Just one question, I thought the IaaS exam was on vcloud 1.5 and not 5.1.. did you take the exam yet? is studying based on 5.1 ok?

    • paulgrevink says:

      Hi Gary,

      Thank you very much for your feedback, I really appreciate it.
      I took the exam in March 2013 and used the 5.1 software for my preparation.
      I have just downloaded the latest Exam blueprint (version 2.4, 28 March 2013), and I must say, VMware is not very clear concerning versions. There are references to V1.5, but also to V5.1.
      In my case, I did not encounter big issues studying the 5.1 version.

      Wishing you all success preparing for your exam..

      Best Regards,

      Paul

  6. gary says:

    Great – thanks. I am going to study for 5.1, was a little put out studying for older version. Your guide will seriously help me out. I have booked exam for 4 weeks away to give me a kick.

    thanks again as I know how long that must have took you.

  7. […] 1.5 heavy, have a look at the ChargeBack training on the VMware site, I would also have a look at VMware Iaas exam Study Notes | Adventures in a Virtual World which was a good source for me. My Blog – http://www.everything-virtual.com vExpert 20122013 […]

Leave a Reply

